Tags

, ,

With Julie’s gluten issue and our crossfitting we have been slowly eating more and more of a paleo/primal diet. That has meant more cookbooks to add to my shelf.

20121110-215924.jpg

The Food Lovers Make it Paleo has two chicken recipes using an entire chicken. This recipe was nice & simple, something I really like now that our Sundays’s seem to be crazy getting ready for the week. It starts by rubbing the chicken with a coating of EVOO, garlic, rosemary, lemon zest & black pepper.

20121110-215937.jpg

This chicken from Whole Foods was a big boy at just over 5#, the recipe said 20-30 minutes per # at 350 deg. which had a me a little worried. Put I started it in the oven plenty early and think it came out in under 2 hours. The skin was crispy, and the flavor great. This could end being part of the perfect roast chicken, a coating of fat, and a medium temperature.

20121110-215944.jpg

Next time I will omit the garlic from the rub as it burns being exposed in the oven for that much time. They note this as a suggestion at the bottom of the page, but I wanted to try it as rx’d just once. I ended up flicking off the worst bits and then taking the picture. Not sure why that was not a suggestion brought into the body of the recipe as I think the garlic will burn everytime. As I read the various paleo cookbooks I am sometime left scratching my head at little things like this. The current generation of paleo cookbooks are great but have a ways to go to catch up with the real masters.